Swiss Financial Services Ombudsman

Financial Services Ombudsman (FINSOM) is a specialised mediation body that administers a mediation scheme in business or commercial relations and work relations in the financial services sector. FINSOM is recognised by the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) under the Financial Services Act (FinSA). 

FINSOM is the first and only Ombudsman Office in the Swiss financial sector that acts in the public interest while being independent from government as well as sector or branch organisations, chambers of commerce, financial service providers and mediator, consumer and employee associations or organisations. FINSOM’s independence is unique in the Swiss financial center and essential to guarantee its impartiality.

Companies affiliated to FINSOM offer their clients and/or employees the assurance of having access to a competent and impartial person of trust in the event of a conflict or dispute, as an alternative to legal proceedings. FINSOM’s mediation procedure is available in English, French, German and Italian as well as free of charge for clients and employees.

Over 800 Swiss and foreign financial service providers have already affiliated to FINSOM, including client advisers, portfolio managers, trustees, managers of collective assets, securities firms and banks. They are currently informing their clients and employees of their affiliation.

Ombudsman für Schweizer Finanzdienstleistungen

Financial Services Ombudsman (FINSOM) ist eine spezialisierte Ombudsstelle, die ein System zur Mediation in Geschäfts- oder Handels- und Arbeitsbeziehungen im Finanzdienstleistungssektor verwaltet. FINSOM ist durch das Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartement (EFD) nach dem Finanzdienstleistungsgesetzes (FIDLEG) anerkannt.

FINSOM ist die erste und einzige im öffentlichen Interesse tätige Ombudsstelle im Schweizer Finanzsektor, die vom Staat sowie von Branchenorganisationen, Handelskammern, Finanzdienstleistern und Mediatoren-, Verbraucher- und Arbeitnehmerverbänden oder -organisationen unabhängig ist. Die Unabhängigkeit der FINSOM ist einzigartig auf dem Schweizer Finanzplatz und unerlässlich, um ihre Unparteilichkeit zu gewährleisten.

Unternehmen, die FINSOM angeschlossen sind, bieten ihren Kunden und/oder Mitarbeitern die Garantie, im Falle eines Konflikts oder einer Streitigkeit Zugang zu einer kompetenten und unparteiischen Vertrauensperson zu haben, als Alternative zum Gerichtsverfahren. Das FINSOM-Mediationsverfahren ist in Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch und Italienisch verfügbar und für Kunden und Mitarbeiter kostenlos.

Über 800 in- und ausländische Finanzdienstleister haben sich bereits FINSOM angeschlossen, darunter Kundenberater, Vermögensverwalter, Trustee, Verwalter von Kollektivvermögen, Wertpapierhäuser und Banken. Sie informieren derzeit ihre Kunden und Mitarbeiter über ihren neuen Anschluss.